Steve Yenisch Steals Lone Star 200 on Last Lap

Steve Yenisch won his third race of the season in dramatic fashion, passing Adam Matz in the final turn for the victory at Texas Motor Speedway. The ninth career win for Yenisch ties him for third on the all-time league wins leaderboard, but most importantly, solidified his standing as the driver to beat this season. With nine playoff points already accumulated, and the regular season points lead, he is in a great position to make a deep run for the season championship.

Polesitter Johnny Avila looked to be in position to take control of the race early, but a power failure at his home forced him to DNF on Lap 20. Jeff Yenisch assumed control and led 31 laps before his tires faded late in the stage. Adam Matz took advantage and won the stage over Tyler Saville.

Matz controlled the restart after the stage break and led 81 laps until Steve Yenisch reeled him in on slightly fresher tires. He finally caught Matz on the last lap and made a dramatic pass in the high lane in Turns 3-4. Matz made one last-ditch attempt at the win but was unable to get fully alongside him on the frontstretch. Behind Matz in the running order was Tyler Saville, Justin Gann and Duane Hunt.

The Elite Series heads next to Dover on August 21. Catch the broadcast live on Trackside Racing Network!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s