Ringler Wins at Chicagoland; Avila Crowned Regular Season Champion

Trent Ringler continued his storybook campaign, winning for the fourth time of the season at Chicagoland Speedway. Ringler took advantage of a late-race pair of restarts to get back in contention, and edged out Todd Cray to the checkered flag.

Steve Yenisch found himself out front late in the race, however Johnny Avila’s contact with Mark Jenkins brought out the caution with only 10 laps remaining. Yenisch and several leaders pitted for their last set of tires, but three drivers stayed out and pinned Yenisch behind the slower traffic. On the ensuing restart, calamity ensued, and Yenisch was caught up in a giant crash entering Turn 1.

On the following restart, Ringler assumed the lead from Tyler Saville and held off Cray for the win. Jeff Yenisch, Josh Connors and Michael Trevarthen completed the Top 5.

The late-race chaos jumbled up the final regular season standings, with Steve Yenisch losing his chance to overtake the struggling Avila for the points lead. Yenisch did manage to join Ringler and Bentley Glaser in the Top 4 in points. With late-race damage, Joshua Sarif fell from 8th to 9th in the standings, which cost him a guaranteed free pass in the first round. Connors, Patrick Desaulnier and William Kempf also made their way into the playoff bracket after the final race, with Charles Woods’ bad luck costing him a spot in the playoffs.

The Elite Series All-Star Night at Charlotte is on August 1st, and the playoffs begin on August 8th at Auto Club Speedway. Catch both nights of exciting racing on Trackside Racing Network!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s